My favourite products from 2013

First of all Happy New Year to my followers! Apologies for the lack of posts, I have been away on holiday and things have been hectic!

Anyway, the end of the year always brings out the ‘best of’ posts from everyone! Personally, I like read these kinds of posts and see what everyone has enjoyed using. Therefore, I have decided to jump onto the bandwagon and countdown my top 5 products of 2013!

These are products which I have discovered this year and can’t imagine living without.

kohlbeauty.wordpress.com

1. Maybelline Colour Tattoo Eyeshadow (£4.99)

Words cannot describe how much I love this product. I use this in the shade ‘On and on bronze’ every single day at work. My eyelids tend to get oily after a few hours, yet the colour tattoo eyeshadow outperforms every other eyeshadow I have tried by far! Since I have discovered these my MAC Paintpots have been gathering dust. I wouldn’t say this lasts exactly 24 hours but it does a very good job as both an eyeshadow and base/primer. It is exceptionally good value for money.

2. Tangle Teezer Professional Detangling Brush  (~ £10)

I have very knotty hair. Even when I wash my hair with a detangler it will still be knotty. This is genuinely how bad it gets… My savior was my hairdresser who introduced me to the Tangle Teezer. Don’t get me wrong, it doesn’t instantly detangle my hair but but takes infinitely less time. My hair falls out quite easily but the Tangle Teezer pulls out less hair and feels less damaging. I know its bad to brush your hair when its wet, but its a lot easier to manage for me. When I’m without it (after the gym, on holiday) it reminds me what an impact it makes.

3. Lush Aqua Marina Cleanser (£6.35 for 100g)

This cleanser is designed to soothe skin and this is what it does. After a long day of work, my face is tired of makeup, London smoke and the tube. I initially cleanse my face with Dermalogica Special Cleansing gel (or the boots / Simple cleaner at the moment!) and then I gently massage a layer of this onto my skin. I don’t leave it on too long as it can dry my skin out a bit but it leaves my skin feeling soft and soothed. So much so that I have repurchased several times.

4. Seventeen Wet Look Lacquer eyeliner (£3.99)

Another fantastic long lasting eye product is the Seventeen Wet Look Lacquer eyeliner. I discovered this product when I left my Rimmel professional eyeliner at home and needed a cheap replacement for an important meeting at work (isn’t it crazy how feeling presentable makes you more confident?!). Anyway, I have never looked back since! This is a jet black eyeliner which lasts all day and night until I take it off. It is very easy to wash off – it kind of peels off when you rub it. It also has a very fine brush which allows me to create a thin, natural looking line. I really love this eyeliner, when Boots do a 3 for 2 I always grab a bunch.

5. Kerastase Nutritive Bain Satin 2 Shampoo (RRP £16.50)

Although Kerastase is a pricey brand, it really it worth the price tag. I used to have a lot of shedding hair but I feel like this shampoo (and conditioner) has done a really good job of conditioning my previously highlighted hair. The smell can be a bit strong and chemically for some, however it leaves hair feeling light and clean without being stripped. If you have fine hair I would really recommend giving this a try. It may seem like a lot of money but remember we only need to use a 10p sized amount of shampoo. A bottle usually lasts me 4-6 months.

Were any of these on your list?

xxx

twitter email

3 thoughts on “My favourite products from 2013

  1. I’ve been wanting to try that detangling brush for ages, how exactly does it work?
    This is just the inspiration I needed to officially order my own. I love your blog and this is a great review. Do you use Garnier Fructis frizz milk? It’s one of my favorites that definitely manages my awful frizz.

    definitely following. At style scripture, we do more fashion than beauty news so this is great to read. We took a break from blogging for awhile and now we’re back so hopefully you can check us out 🙂
    love s.s.
    stylescripture.wordpress.com

    • Hi, what a lovely comment thanks so much! The brush has thin plastic bristles which are short and flexible so it doesn’t tug into the hair too much, I think that’s why it works so well.

      I haven’t tried the garnier product but will definitely keep an eye out next time I go shopping! I’m glad my reviews help, your blog looks awesome!! Xxx

What do you think? Leave a Reply

